NORTH WEST LEICESTERSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL - 26 MAY 2015

Title of report	APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND GROUPS, ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN
Contact	Head of Legal and Support Services 01530 454762 elizabeth.warhurst@nwleicestershire.gov.uk
Purpose of report	To appoint the Committees and Groups of the Council and members to serve thereon and also to elect the chairmen and deputy chairmen.
Council's Priorities	Value for Money.
Implications:	
Financial/staff	None.
Link to relevant Corporate Action Team	None.
Risk management	None.
Equalities Impact Assessment	Not applicable.
Human rights	None.
Transformational Government	None.
Comments of the Head of Paid Service	The report is satisfactory.
Comments of the Section 151 Officer	The report is satisfactory.
Comments of the Monitoring Officer	The report is satisfactory.
Consultees	Leaders of Political Groups.
Background papers	The Council's Constitution
Recommendations	(A) TO MAKE THE APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMITTEES AND GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 1.2 OF THE REPORT. (B) THAT CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN BE APPOINTED FOR THE COMMITTEES AND
	GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 2.1 OF THE REPORT.

1.0 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES AND GROUPS

- 1.1 In accordance with the Constitution Members must, at the Council's Annual Meeting, receive nominations of Councillors to serve on each board or committee and appoint to those boards or committees.
- 1.2 The Committees and Groups include:
 - Appointments Committee (4 Members plus appropriate Portfolio Holder)
 - Audit and Governance Committee (10 Members)
 - Electoral Review Working Party (5 Members)
 - Employee Joint Consultative Committee (6 Members)
 - Investigatory Committee (3 Members)
 - Licensing Committee (17 Members)
 - Local Plan Advisory Committee (7 Members)
 - Planning Committee (17 Members)
 - Policy Development Group (10 Members)

2.0 POLITICAL BALANCE REQUIREMENTS

- 2.1 In determining the membership of Committees, account must be taken of the requirements of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups)
 Regulations 1990 and 1991 made under sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. These Regulations require that seats on Committees and Sub-Committees are allocated to the political groups in a way which reflects the overall balance on the Council; with some exceptions to any committees/working groups established under the Constitution. The allocation of seats on ordinary committees must be the same proportion as the number of members of the Authority as a whole. The Council has a duty when allocating or reviewing the allocation of seats on committees to give effect so far as is reasonably practicable to the following four principles:-
 - (i) all the seats are not allocated to the same political group:
 - (ii) the majority of the seats go to the political group in the majority on the full Council:
 - (iii) subject to the above two principles, the total number of seats on the ordinary committees of the Authority are allocated to each political group in the same proportion as the group's representation on the full Council; and
 - (iv) subject to the above three principles, the number of seats on each committee are allocated to each political group in the same proportion as the group's representation on the Council.

3.0 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN

- 3.1 Members are asked to appoint the Chairmen and Deputy Chairman to the following:
 - Audit and Governance Committee
 - Licensing Committee
 - Planning Committee
 - Policy Development Group

4.0 NOMINATIONS

4.1 Nominations for the seats on the above committees and groups will be circulated at the meeting.

NOMINATIONS FOR COMMITTEES AND GROUPS

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (5 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Chairman: Councillor R Blunt Deputy Chairman: Councillor A V Smith	
Councillor J Legrys Councillor R Woodward Appropriate Portfolio Holder	
Substitutes: Councillors R D Bayliss, T Neilson, T J Pendleton, N J Rushton and S D Sheahan	

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (10 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Chairman: Councillor T Neilson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Cotterill	
Councillor A Bridges Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Everitt Councillor D Howe Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor A C Saffell Councillor N Smith	

COALVILLE SPECIAL EXPENSES WORKING PARTY

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Councillor R Adams – Greenhill Ward Councillor N Clarke – Greenhill Ward Councillor P Clayfield – Coalville Ward Councillor D Everitt – Thringstone Ward Councillor J Geary – Snibston Ward Councillor R Johnson – Snibston Ward Councillor J Legrys – Coalville Ward Councillor M Specht – Bardon Ward Councillor L Spence – Thringstone Ward Councillor M B Wyatt – Greenhill Ward	Ward members for Bardon, Broom Leys, Castle Rock, Coalville East, Coalville West, Greenhill, Snibston North, Snibston South and Thringstone.

ELECTORAL REVIEW WORKING PARTY (5 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor N J Rushton Councillor A V Smith Councillor L Spence	

EMPLOYEE JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (6 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Councillor R Adams Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Howe Councillor C Large	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, N Clarke, T Gillard & R Johnson	

INVESTIGATORY COMMITTEE (3 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Councillor R Blunt Councillor A V Smith Councillor L Spence	
Substitutes: Councillors R D Bayliss, J Legrys & T J Pendleton	

LICENSING COMMITTEE (17 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Chairman: Councillor N Smith Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Coxon	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G A Allman Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D Everitt Councillor J Geary Councillor P Hyde Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor L Massey Councillor T Neilson Councillor J Ruff Councillor J Ruff Councillor M Specht Councillor M B Wyatt	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, D De Lacy, R Holland, J Hoult, D Howe & L Spence	

LOCAL PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (7 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Councillor R D Bayliss Councillor J Bridges Councillor D De Lacy Councillor C Large Councillor J Legrys Councillor V Richichi Councillor S Sheahan	
Substitutes: Councillors R Adams, A Bridges, A V Smith & R Woodward	

PLANNING COMMITTEE (17 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Chairman: Councillor D J Stevenson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Bridges	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G A Allman Councillor J Coxon Councillor D Everitt Councillor T Gillard Councillor J Hoult Councillor D Howe Councillor R Johnson Councillor G Jones Councillor J Legrys Councillor T Neilson Councillor N Smith Councillor M Specht Councillor R Woodward Councillor M B Wyatt	
Substitutes: Councillors A Bridges, N Clarke, J Cotterill, V Richichi, S Sheahan & L Spence	

POLICY DEVELOPMENT GROUP (10 members)

Appointments for 2014/15	Nominees for 2015/16
Chairman: Councillor J Coxon Deputy Chairman: Councillor M Specht	
Councillor N Clarke Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D Everitt Councillor J Geary Councillor V Richichi Councillor A C Saffell Councillor S Sheahan Councillor N Smith	
Substitutes: Councillors R Adams, G A Allman, D Howe & C Large	